CMUA 2018 Resource Efficiency & Community Service Awards

CMUA | Friday, December 22nd, 2017

CMUA member utilities and agencies are invited to submit an application for CMUA’s 2018 Resource Efficiency & Community Service Awards. Now in its 25th year, this awards program has produced more than 400 outstanding entries from across the state since it began.

Award winners will be honored during an awards dinner at CMUA’s 86th Annual Conference, March 25-27, 2018, in San Francisco, and will be prominently featured during the conference.

The competition is open to all CMUA members. The submission deadline is February 20, 2018.

Please download this Call for Nominations form for category and criteria requirements, and to complete your application.

Awards Classifications and Categories

A maximum of nine awards, three in each of the following classifications: Larger Utility/Agency, Medium Utility/Agency and Smaller Utility/Agency will be given in these categories:

Energy Programs: Innovative and effective approaches in implementing renewable energy resources, energy efficiency, demand reduction, research and development, low income assistance, or greenhouse gas reduction strategies.

Water Programs: Innovative and effective programs that implement practices designed to save or efficiently use water resources, or greenhouse gas reduction strategies.

Community Service Programs: Innovative and effective approaches to serving local community needs that do not fall in the above categories.


The judging panel is comprised of energy and water industry leaders, including past award winners.

Questions? Need more information? Please contact CMUA Communications Manager Matt Williams at 916/326-5805, or by email at

Past Winners

Take a look at the agencies and projects that have won awards during the past four years.

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014